The prosperity of giving away

15 Jun

Last week I graduated from seminary and was ordained as a Unity minister. That in itself is enough fodder for several blogs, but today I’m thinking about prosperity.

During the interview process that is a part of achieving ordination,  I was asked what is prosperity.  I said that while it includes money, that’s not the whole picture. To me it’s about being in the flow of giving and receiving in many ways. I share and give as I feel led, and receive gratefully the blessings that come my way. I have always had what I needed even in precarious moments.

This week was move out week. I have been blessed to live in student housing at Unity Village for over 2 years, but since I graduated, it was time to move out. As we don’t know where our church destination is yet, most everything is going in
storage for the interim. What does this have to do with prosperity? We gave (most) everything away.

See, as many many people in their 20’s do, I had accumulated most of my furniture in a hand me down fashion. Which is very helpful when one is on a budget, and it’s neat to look a round a room and think, oh so and so gave me that. Actually, I’d accumulated some pretty good stuff, but not necessarily our style, or having any cohesive design connection.  It’s been 10 years since I got my undergraduate degree, and now as we’re heading to a whole new world as a minister and her family, it seemed to be a good time to release some things to the next person who needs them. I didn’t see the use in storing and moving anything I don’t totally love for an undetermined time period. I mean really, sure the pink easy chair was comfy, but it was pink, and I’d hauled it around since my first apartment in Chicago, almost 10 years ago,
and did I mention it was pink? So off it went to the next 20 something college grad looking to find her place in the world (and she likes pink).

But there is something more there, because I have to believe that the resources to replace what was given will emerge. That something better is awaiting around the bend. I will find a perfect comfy chair for me that is even better than the one I gave away, and I’ll be able to buy it in whatever color I want! I think it’s ok to have a sparse home for a while as we find what is right for us.

Now I’m not saying that one needs to throw everything out and buy new, not at all. But I also don’t believe I need to hold on to the things that served me once but don’t any longer. How cool to say, here take my sofa, and take this crate of food I can’t store too. It is exciting to see the joy of the people receiving and it feels freeing to let go of the
items. While I was sorting clothes I held an item and though, if I’m not sure I want this, would it give joy to someone else? That was enough to drop many items in the goodwill pile.

In short, I gave away anything that wasn’t me.

We’re starting our new chapter lighter, more authentic, assured that our needs are abundantly met. What a prosperous life!

PS, I wrote much of this on the plane to my mom’s in Oregon. I took a very serious pic for your viewing pleasure.

image

2 Responses to “The prosperity of giving away”

  1. Sara Mabin June 15, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Lovely. 🙂 We’re doing the same thing, only instead of moving we’re just trying to make room for the new person moving in. We’ve been carting off truckloads of stuff to Goodwill and piling things at the curb, but we have one pile reserved for the yard-sale-that-may-never-come. Maybe we’ll just start giving that mess away too. 🙂 SPREADIN’ THE PROSPERITY AROUND A LITTLE.

    • preacherchick June 15, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

      Being in the flow is awesome! Way to go Sara!

Leave a Reply

