Today

27 Apr

Yes, I am back. For a while there I was having some pretty fun blog ideas, but I was making myself do homework instead, then when the term was over I had fallen out of the habit. A touch of hectic life and writers block smooshed together.

This weekend had originally been scheduled to have many things going on, and I was and continue to be grateful that there was some cancellations that happened. So even though there is this and that on my list, I decided that I really needed to take the time to head over to Creative Nectar Studio for some process painting. I have talked about the process and a previous experience here. Part of the adventure is to be open and not try to think ahead what I might paint or what it ‘should’ be.

As we began I chose some colors and stood before my paper open to where to start, as the paint first touched down I immersed in the flower that was emerging. Stephanie came around to check on everyone and I said to her, ‘Today I needed to paint something beautiful.’ As she left it really resonated with me how true that was. There is some not so pretty things going on in my world, and I needed that freshness, the life.

The thought of putting words on paintings is a little risque and exhilarating but it became clear to me that the blue paint I had not touched yet was there for words. So I started with Today is for… beauty and I went on from there adding words as I painted. When Stephanie came around again, i told her that this was my manifesto for the day, and then for every day. I realized that I really needed to take a day, now that some of the hectic stuff is paused for a moment to just choose to not engage it the stuff that stresses me. I emailed someone I was supposed to have a phone call with and said, I just need to take a day when I’m not thinking about this topic. And it was OK to ask for that. I am not advocating ignoring important things that need to be handled, but just that it’s ok, for me, today, to just not. To take a day off. To paint, to write a blog, to hang out with a friend, to goof off. I might even do some homework and email responding. I’m choosing to ignore for the day the things that must be done that annoy me and know I will handle it with more grace tomorrow.

How refreshing.

So here’s my painting:

There are other little insights that happened along the way, but that’s enough for now. Time to chill.

Namaste,

Ra

One Response to “Today”

  1. bneal817 April 30, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Good to see you back to bloggin, Ra 🙂

Leave a Reply

