a rebuttal and relationships

3 Feb

With a title like that you might think I’m about to get belligerent. I don’t think we’ll quite go there, but something I saw in a friend’s blog pushed a button.

To paraphrase, the blog said to surround yourself with folks further along the path than you so you can learn from them and folks not as far along as you so you can teach them.

So I’ll make sure I let everyone know I’m at mile post 17, and you can let me know where you’re at so we know who the teacher and student are. Ah if only life was that un-complicated.

In my experience it’s just not that simple to tell who is further along than who. There are so many facets of how we express in the world, and surely most of us are not in exactly the same place in all of them.

For instance, I have a friend who I look up to as a great example of organization and expertise in her field, I could go on for a while about her excellent attributes. She on the other hand calls me her example on how to have fun, even in the midst of getting the work done.

I see many of the relationships I have with people in this dynamic yin/yang place. The abilities that we each posses might appear to fall opposite of each other, but with the chance to learn and bend with the other, we are both made stronger.

You remember that scene in Forrest Gump when Forrest and Bubba lean against each other so neither of them land in the mud while sleeping? That’s how I see it, we all need each other to lean on so we can achieve our goals.

That’s all I have to say about that.

With love ’til next time,

Ra

PS, this is my 30th blog, thanks for reading 🙂

3 Responses to “a rebuttal and relationships”

  1. Kricket February 4, 2012 at 12:35 am #

    I’m making tshirts… Oneness: I Am Further Along The Path Than You!

  2. bneal817 February 4, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    I’m just gonna hang out here at mile marker zero… I have a feeling this path is a big circle 🙂

Leave a Reply

