Music is my weapon

29 Jan

Yesterday I attended a drum circle at Unity Village Chapel’s community center. There were over 60 people there from under 10 to, well, it’s not polite to ask someone’s age, so we’ll just go with there were all ages there.

One of the kids who was really into it, I’d say he’s about 6th grade, had on a shirt that read: ‘music is my weapon.’

Music is my weapon. It made me smile every time I saw it. To me it means that instead of choosing a weapon he’s choosing music. Music is where the energy is going. I’ve seen a bumper sticker that reads: ‘Make art not war.’  What if we all did that, all the time? What if we followed the creative, community-enriching, life-affirming path? What if we found our part of healing the world and made it our mission?

Ziggy Marley sang ‘Love is my religion’. I have realized on more than one occasion I was singing along and changed the words to Love is my Decision. Kind of a Ziggy Daniel Nahmod mix.

That’s the life I want to live. Choosing music, art and creative expression over weapons and hate and lack. I want to decide for love, and make that decision every day, every moment.

I could preach on for a while, but today I’ll keep it short… I gotta go play my guitar

Choosing love, music and joy,

Ra

4 Responses to “Music is my weapon”

  1. Kim Smith January 29, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Ra,

    Great Blog, so thought provoking to kick off the “Season for Non-Violence”. Music can help inspire and heal on many levels. What a wonderful world it would be (no pun intended) if we would ALL make LOVE our decision. Thanks for the blog. Love Ya!! Kim

    P.S. I been wanting to attend a drum circle, but I haven’t a drum. Can I just come and hang out enjoying the music?

  2. preacherchick January 31, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    Everyone is welcome to come to the drum circle! At Independence we always have extra drums and shakers. There were extras at the UV one as well. Of course just chillin’ is also welcome.

  3. julie February 2, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    TOO FUN…………

    That kid…wearing the t-shirt…..is my son, Davis. Davis is in 3rd grade…and he’s 9. lol

    He LOVED the drum cirlce……we still can’t believe he got up and danced……lol.

    Both of our boys…..really enjoyed the atmosphere.

    And you are right……if we would all pick up a song…instead of negative thoughts….and shake our hips….just for the fun of it…..this world just might be a brighter place.

    • preacherchick February 2, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Hi Julie,
      Kids might be the only group more offended than middle aged women if you incorrectly guess their age. (always guess younger with adults, older with kids)
      Anyways, your kids carried a sense of confidence that helped boost my age guess. Thanks for reading, see ya next time.

Leave a Reply

