Princesses and shooting stars

3 Oct

Twice in the last week I have seen a shooting star. As far as I know there isn’t a meteor shower going on right now, so I think that’s pretty rare, I know I haven’t had that happen before.

It got me wondering, why do we wish on a falling star? The interwebs didn’t get me very far, pretty much that they are rare so it’s hard to prove one way or another that it ‘works’ because by the time you have a wish, the star is gone.

Centuries ago when this and wishing on the first star became a myth, people didn’t know the scientific reasons for a shooting star. They gave it meaning that made sense to them. I find it a fascinating and endearing part of who we are as humans that we want and have answers to so much of the ‘why’s’ of the world that were unknowns to folks even a couple centuries ago, and yet we keep the mythic traditions that don’t make sense but speak to us of something magical beyond us.

We want to believe, though I don’t think we really do. We want to take a moment from a ‘just the facts mam’ kind of world and jump into a world of magic and mystery.

Which is where I spent a couple of hours yesterday afternoon. The entourage and I headed off to the KC Renaissance festival. My sis wanted to dress up, so I did too.

Within minutes of entering the gates a little girl, probably 4 or 5, came right up to me and hugged me. Then she just stood there and looked up at me. I apparently looked enough like a princess that this little one wanted to hang around. We chatted for a few minutes about her liberally applied glitter before she went off with her mom.

I got called a princess a lot yesterday, and also was cursed or disarmed a hundred times by a wand wielding 7 year old. (too bad for him the wands were left in my royal carriage *evil laugh*) 

Ren Fest is such a good time because for a short time we get to take a break, put on another persona, play make-believe and dress up. While my glitter covered little friend may think she hugged a princess yesterday, the rest of us ‘grown ups’ got to join in a collective experience of play.

Just as much as we know a falling star is a meteor or space junk burning up in the atmosphere we also want to parry with knights and frolic with faeries. As often as we whip out our smart phones and google anything we decide we need to know, we lay our deepest desires on fate in the form of a star.

We sure are funny creatures. This is my take away:

What if we all took a little more time to play and laugh and set aside our burdens? What if we choose to see each other as fellow players, wishers and dreamers?

Tag you’re it!

Leave a Reply

