Tuning

16 Jul

I have been teaching myself guitar. I had started back in the fall, and then I stopped practicing when I got into winter term. By a couple weeks before the end of Spring term I was getting excited to start playing again. I made myself wait ’til the term was over and went and bought new strings for the guitar I’ve had since I was 5.

I’ve been having a good time, I’ve gotten tuning down, some chords are starting to come naturally, the tips of my fingers are often a little tender as I’m building up calluses, I can even make my way through some songs. In all, it’s been a great summer project.

Today, I looked up the chords for a new song and got to playing it after tuning,

it went ok and I moved on to the the songs I’ve been practicing every day. But something didn’t sound right. Now I’ve been taking the philosophy that if I keep working my fingers in the right-ish ways and plow through the songs, my technique will improve. So often the chords don’t  sound exactly right. But really, I was thinking I was WAY off tonight.

Then I checked again for being in tune… and you guessed it! The G string was off just enough to mess up everything! (it’s right in the middle, there’s no way around it)

Which launched me into thinking about blogging. How often in life do we say, ‘ok, I did that, now on to the next thing’. When in practice we need to keep coming back to check that we’re in tune. Maybe it’s a project or long term path you are working on, when was the last time you returned to HQ (as Charles Fillmore would say) and felt out the next step or if there is need for adjustment? In your relationships are you mindful to show that you care? Are you doing something because it’s the way it’s always been done? Could there be a tune-up of the process?

With a musical instrument, it’s relatively obvious when something is out of tune, but how do we know that in our own lives? What do we measure our clarity by?

The other day some technology was not working as my friend was expecting it to. I came over, assessed the situation, and realized that the ‘on’ switch had not been flipped. In the busyness of the moment, and being distracted by something new, the old routine that held an essential piece was missed. I thought of this when I was percolating this blog while strumming because it was simple what needed to happen, the technology was plugged in, but not turned on! So many times I have found myself doing something and realizing I am not giving it any true attention. Not tuned in or plugged in!

Everyone has their way to tune up and plug in, what dear friends are the ways that you know when you are ‘in tune’ (or not)? I’ll share some of my own after I hear from you.

Peace and love,

Ra

3 Responses to “Tuning”

  1. Ogun July 16, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Plugging in n powering up… The oft forgotten 1st two steps of daily life.

  2. Zeb Walter July 18, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    So love this! I’ve been thinking along the same lines lately too. (PS You can use my super awesome tuner when I move there.)

  3. preacherchick July 18, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    This happened again last night, but it was a different string that went out of tune… kinda funny how that happens.

Leave a Reply

