Love wash

5 Jul

I know I know, I haven’t blogged in over 2 weeks. I was away at South Central Bi Regional Rally (Bi-Regi) for a week and then I’ve been busy catching up. Some great blog worthy things happened while I was there however, so stay tuned ūüôā

On the last night of Bi-Regi they install the new regional officers and celebrate the graduating seniors. Earlier in the week I had the chance to sit with the graduates and talk about ‘life after YOU’ namely NGU and encouraging them to stay connected as they go out into the world. I remember this time, high school is over, YOU is over… you’re an adult now… Now what?

But back to graduation, each graduate is honored on the stage and given a gift and then they are ushered to a love wash. In case you don’t know what a love wash (angel wash) is, a person usually with eyes closed is guided down a row with friends on both sides who whisper loving words in their ear as they pass. I had the honor to¬†receive¬†these graduates as they came off stage and be the first to¬†whisper¬†my blessings as I sent them down the love wash.

There is a family of things I¬†usually¬†say in these kinds of situations. It’s not that I couldn’t come up with different things to say, it’s just that I believe it so much. So I started with ‘You are here to be the light. There is nothing you can’t do when you shine your light’ Simple and powerful. A modernized affirmative version of Matthew 5:14, “You are the light of the world, a city built on a hill cannot be hidden.” It is my favorite verse and totally applies.

What was amazing and powerful to me was to hear what I started to say when I got into it. Some of these teens I have seen over the years, some I had barely met, a few I had gotten a chance to know some or very well. But I didn’t need to know them to know what to say.

I told them you are the light. There is nothing can stand in your way. You have everything you need in you. When you go within the answer is always there.

To one young man I said, ‘you are a strong centered caring man, and that is exactly what this world needs, for you to be an example of that in the world.’

To a young lady who expresses herself a little different than what you might call ‘the norm’, I said ‘you know who you are, and you are not afraid to show it. Keep being who you are and never let anyone tell you that you can’t be whoever you are guided to be’

To another, ‘You are here to make a difference in this world. Nothing can stand in the way of you doing what you are called to do.’

I spoke these words and many more, sometimes with background knowledge of the person, but often letting my own guidance lead. What was so powerful is that it clicked. I didn’t need to know ‘things’ about each of these beautiful young adults, I just needed to know their spirit and affirm their potential.

It was a beautiful night, it was wonderful to speak those words over 30 times, because to say it with the deep conviction I have, I had to believe it for myself too. Could you do that? Say to yourself 30 times a day that you are strong and centered. That you have everything you need within you. That nothing NOTHING could ever hold you back when you are following your inner wisdom.

As I said, it was a beautiful evening, and now I challenge you dear reader, what are you telling yourself? Try telling yourself how wonderful and full of potential you are every day, not just once, a bunch of times. Say it until you believe it. Say it to other people. Tell them how wonderful they are. Get out there and make the world a giant love wash.

Much Love,

Ra

One Response to “Love wash”

  1. Kim Smith July 6, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Ra Ra,

    Love washes are such a beautiful, powerful experience!! What a wonderful way to bring the grad. ceremony to a close, leaving these wonderful young folks with such words of truth and LOVE. My first experience with a “love wash” was 3 years ago at Bi-regi. It touched me so deeply that I often reflect on that event when I’m having a less than stellar day or thoughts of myself. So glad you were receiving these young people and affirming their truth (especially since mine was one of them). Sending my own love wash to you!

    In Joy, Kim

Leave a Reply

