My Dad

19 Jun

Today is Father’s day and as I woke up this morning I got to thinking about all the great ways my dad has been my dad and I wanted to share them.

Some of my earliest memories of my dad include him sitting in a lawn chair watching my dance performance in the front yard the moment he got home from work before he even got to go inside. I remember him building things and getting to help. We’d always sing in the car, my dad loves to sing silly songs and create harmonies.

I called him Buddy back then (which I spelled Bude). On the occasion I would go into the office with him, I would use all the highlighters and flow chart templates to make him art that would stay pinned up in his cube for years.

I remember the peaceful look on his face when we’d rise to sing the Lord’s Prayer at church. I remember Dad and Mom tucking me in at night with the affirmation “Rachel is a perfect intelligent child of God and Mommy and Daddy love her.” When I was older I would get up early to go to school and dad would be sitting in the living room meditating.

I think of my dad’s love of words and puns and scrabble. It’s funny that someone who loves words so much has a kid who can’t spell, but dictionaries are allowed when the Simpson family plays scrabble, so I did ok. Card games are also a favored way to hang out with my dad.

When I was young, it was dance performances, as I got older I had square dance practices, and choir performances and theatre shows. My dad was there. Always with a proud look on his face always picking up some tidbit that I hadn’t noticed. He drove my friends and I around to our various activities, he was the goofy sweet dad.

When I broke my arm and needed something to help me keep it elevated, he went to his scrap pile and emerged with an adjustable set-up that utilized at least 2 old projects.

Recently I learned that as soon as I was born I started raising Holy Hell, and my dad was there walking me back and forth while the doctors got my mom put back together. That tenderness and love for me has never wavered.

I could go on and on, but I’ll conclude with a list of some things I learned from my dad:

  • A love for Jazz music, particularly Dave Brubeck
  • Songs are a great basis to start a parody song from (it is a talent I am proud to have)
  • Reuse, repurpose, recycle
  • Faith
  • How to ride a bike
  • appriciate the beauty of the world
  • Work together to make a family/life/world that works
  • It’s good to be silly!
  • Teddy Bears make great voices if you listen.

I love you Daddy, you’re the best daddy for me 🙂

Love, Bude

This is Dad and I at the waterfall at Unity Village when he came to visit in 2009

2 Responses to “My Dad”

  1. Tanya Andren June 19, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    Lovely post Rachey!

  2. Kim Smith June 19, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Rachel, what a tender, sweet reflection of your Dad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

