DANCE!

22 May

This weekend I was blessed to participate in a central sub-regional Uniteen overnight. (Pre-teen lock-in layman’s terms).

It was great to spend some time with my group and Uniteens and sponsors from other local churches. We had some Dove chocolates for the adults and I took pictures of some of my wrappers.  They are great reminders.

Your smile is your best accessory. Gosh, you would think

that would be obvious to anyone right? But think about it, when you smile not only are you more likely to feel uplifted, you spread that to everyone around you. Spreading joy seems like a pretty worthy cause to me. This weekend we looked at some of the “all I need to know I learned in Kindergarten” ideas. Be nice and smile seems to fit in with that theme quite well.

Then there is this one:

for anyone who knows me knows that I have my own unique way of being, and yet, like everyone else I have struggled with being OK with being different than what seems ‘normal.’ One of the things I love about spending time at youth events like this weekend is that it’s all about authentically showing up. Especially for our young people, though it is true of all of us, having a safe place to be ourselves and discover what that actually means gives us the courage to be that all the time. And it never hurts to have a reminder.

My favortie of the bunch is, of course, this one :

I am not shy about getting up on the dance floor. Before I was born my mom said I was going to be a dancer or football player because I kicked so much. I can’t help but dance when there is music (and sometimes when it’s only in my head).

But this isn’t just about dancing. It’s about leading the pack, it’s about daring to do something a little scary because you see the potential. It’s about being yourself and doing whatever it is that is calling you.

So my friends, I ask you this: what dance floor is calling you to come shake your figurative groove thang? Be yourself, smile at those you meet, and there is a 100% chance of success.

Rock on,

Ra

2 Responses to “DANCE!”

  1. bneal817 May 23, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    There is one thing I know about you Ra: you are always the first one on the dance floor! Great blog – keep on doin your thing 🙂

  2. Kim Smith May 23, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    What a wonderful blog and a great reminder that it’s O.K. to just be yourself. We all have beauty and gifts in our uniqeness. Thank you for sharing your gifts and keep on dancin!! In Joy, Kim

Leave a Reply

