The end of the world

20 May

It has been predicted and widely publicized that the rapture is happening tomorrow evening. A lucky 3% of the population will be sucked up into the sky to heaven and on October 21st it will be the end of the world as we know it.

Most of the people I am in regular contact with don’t take this prediction seriously, but it’s got me wondering a couple things. As an aside, I thought it was very considerate for the end of the world as we know it to not happen until 3 days AFTER my birthday.

I am not going to even pretend to be fluent on the details of this prediction, but what strikes me is what would it be like to really truly believe something such as the arrival of the rapture. Do you pay your bills? do you tell the people you love that you love them? (though presumably if you’re going ‘up’ so are they, so they’ll be there) Do you make appointments for the week after? I am bursting with curiosity on if the man who predicted this has things on his schedule for next week.

What would it be like to believe in something like that? The story goes that Myrtle Fillmore peacefully took care of saying farewell to her dear ones and within weeks passed on. These kinds of stories aren’t rare, I think for many of us, that would be the preferred model. But back to believing and the rapture. What is amazing to me is the bravery of this man to say this is going to happen, something that seems beyond belief to a large portion of the world, and have it so publicly shared. What, if this doesn’t happen tomorrow, will be his response?

What do I believe to a point that I would be comfortable to have it on billboards? What would I do if something I held with that much certainty was disproven?

The other thing I’m struck by in all this is the end of the world as we know it. ‘As we know it’ is the most important part in my book. I don’t think that we have to wait till October for that, many times in my life have been the end of the world as I knew it. Right at this moment the world is shifting in big and small ways, someone is dying, someone is being born, a child is reading the book that will inspire their life, a long hidden love is being revealed, a smile is bringing joy to the lonely. A million firsts and lasts happening now and at every moment.

I was chatting with some ladies the other day and we were remarking how we definitely would NOT want to be 14 again. Not that there was anything wrong with my experience of being 14, but what I know now is so much better. That world has ended for me. I have had times when I have wanted something to stay the way it was when the world has already moved on. I was definitely not in heaven at these points.

Maybe when we choose to think and be as the divine beings that we are, we can ascend the world as we know it to another level of being.

Of course that means the end of the world as we know it… are you ready?

Leave a Reply

